Events,  Latest News

Stunning new literary talent at the Book Festival

In a great double-bill for book lovers, Radio 1 presenter and avid book reader Fee Mak will be talking to rising literary star Kirsty Capes about her new novel Girls on Saturday 18th May at 3.15pm.

Kirsty’s debut novel Careless was longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2022.

Girls is published by Orion on 16th May. The story follows two sisters, Mattie and Nora, on an all-or-nothing road trip across the US, exploring the intricacies of motherhood, friendship and the ties that bind us, or break us. Described as ‘Surprising, heart-breaking, light, brutal, and dryly funny’ Girls is a novel that will start conversations and will appeal to fans of Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason and Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid.

Kirsty Capes works in publishing and is an advocate for better representation for care-experienced people in the media. See her on Instagram @kirstycapes.author 

Fee Mak is a radio presenter and the host of the BBC 1Xtra Breakfast show on Sundays. She is an avid reader who loves to get lost in a book and shares her passion for reading on her Instagram account @highshelfesteem. Fee’s plan is to read 24 books per year and share her honest opinions on them while also, most importantly, hearing what everyone else has to say too!

Book your free ticket here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/author-event-bbcs-fee-mak-interviews-kirsty-capes-free-showcase-event-tickets-906248131557

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.